Sign in to follow this  
Admiral Harmon

Beneath the Raptor's Wing Review

Onwards I plunge, wrapping up the third of the Romulan War arc. And let me start off by saying.....as much as I liked it (and I did quiet a bit) it's a mess!

Book 3 of the Romulan War arc covers the first year of the conflict. It's a book that looks at the war from all sides and perspectives and tries to deliver the true scope of the war. We get Starfleets, the Andorian Imperial Guard, the Tellarite Star Force, the Vulcan Defense Forces and the Romulan Star Empire's military. Diplomats, new journalists, soldiers, civilians, they all get represented.

We should acknowledge that it is a massive undertaking. As an author myself with real world books Just a sample of what I've written, I understand the true scope of trying to undertake complicated stories. Especially one with such expectations behind it as any dealing with the Romulan War.

Now........with that said.....Michael A. Martin should not have been allowed to write this book on his own. The two prior books were cowritten by Andy Mangles, and there is a definite difference in the quality of the two books. In many ways, I feel that Mangles kept Martin on task. But, before I dive into it, which is actually pretty bad, let's start with the good.

The Good

If there is one thing to give Martin props for, it is managing the massive cast of characters and actually remembering who is who and what they are doing. And when I mean massive.....I.Mean.MASSIVE. And when I mean cast of characters, I mean POV characters, characters that were given their own sections and chapters to see things through their eyes.