Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Abawell

New game project: KlingonWars

7 posts in this topic

Hi everyone.

I'm a iPhone/iPad developer and a Star trek fan too.

When I was young, I was playing with AppleTrek on my Apple ][e.

Maybe other fans also know this game.

I'm developing a remake of this game for iPad. New interface (LCARS), animations etc...

I think it could be finished in one or two months.

it's name, KlingonWars.

My problem is, If I'm a good programer (I think ;) ) I'm not a great designer, and sound maker.

As I don't want any copyright problems with CBS, I don't want use any star trek movie sounds or pictures.

So, this is a call to anyone who could help me to:

- Create a great icon for the game.

- create sounds for the phaser, the torpedo shot, the explosion of the klingon ships, the space storm, and some computer sounds.

If you can help me, or know someone which could help me, please contact me.

Thanks.

This are some photoshop pre-project copies. Here is what it will look like when it will be finished. For now, all the background, the galaxy representation, the quadrant, the status and most of the game logic are coded. Still all commands to code.

KlingonWars1.png

KlingonWars2.png

Many of the texts are in french because the game will be available in english and french, and french words are often longer.

You'll have to check if you can even use the word Klingon, or pictures of the USS Enterprise / Klingon ships, or LCARS... If it's a free app you might get away with it, but it still might not get approved by Apple.

I have submitted the question to CBS and I am waiting for their answer.

I seem to remember a few years ago a group of people who were involved in modding Star Trek: Birth of the Federation and then went on to write a sequel to the game, (called Birth of the Empires) starting from the ground up to make the game more challenging and improve the AI among other things.